Scriptures Of Jainism


Jainism is an Indian religion that teaches non-violence and respect for all living things. The Jain scriptures are a collection of texts that date back to the 6th century BCE. They are written in several languages, including Sanskrit, Pali, Prakrit, and Apabhramsha.

The Jain scriptures are divided into two categories: the Agamas and the Siddhanta. The Agamas are a collection of texts that detail the beliefs and practices of Jainism. The Siddhanta is a set of texts that focus on the teachings of Mahavira, the founder of Jainism.

The Jain scriptures provide guidance on how to live a moral and ethical life. They also teach about the nature of reality and the soul. In addition, the scriptures discuss philosophical topics such as karma and reincarnation.

The scriptures of Jainism:

The Jain scriptures are a collection of texts that date back to the 6th century BCE. They include the 11 Angas (primary texts), 12 Purvas (supplementary texts), and various other works. Together, these scriptures provide guidance on all aspects of life, from individual conduct to social ethics to cosmology. Jainism emphasizes self-reliance and personal responsibility for one's own spiritual development.

The 11 Angas: core texts of Jainism.

There are 11 core texts of Jainism, also known as the Angas. They are:

  • Āyāraṃga
  • Sūyagaḍa
  • Ṭhāṇaṃga
  • Samavāyaṃga
  • Viyāha-pannatti / Bhagavaī
  • Nāyā-dhamma-kahāo
  • Uvāsaga-dasāo
  • Aṇuttarovavāiya-dasāo
  • Anuttaraupapātikadaśāh
  • Paṇha-vāgaraṇa
  • Vivāga-suya

The 12 Upangas: supplementary texts.

The 12 Upangas, or supplementary texts, are a key part of this body of literature. These texts provide guidance on a range of topics such as ethics, cosmology, and philosophy.

The Upangas are-

  1. Uvavāiya-sutta
  2. Rāya-paseṇaijja or Rāyapaseṇiya
  3. Jīvājīvābhigama
  4. Pannavaṇā
  5. Sūriya-pannatti
  6. Jambūdvīpa-pannatti
  7. Canda-pannatti
  8. Nirayāvaliyāo or Kappiya
  9. Kappāvaḍaṃsiāo
  10. Pupphiāo
  11. Puppha-cūliāo
  12. Vaṇhi-dasāo

The 6 Chedasutras: texts on monastic life.

Chedasutras are texts that provide guidance on monastic life. There are six Chedasutras, which were composed between the 4th and 6th centuries CE. The Chedasutras provide instructions on a range of topics, including how to live a life of renunciation, how to meditate, and how to conduct oneself during religious ceremonies.

  • Āyāra-dasāo
  • Bihā Kappa
  • Vavahāra
  • Nisīha
  • Jīya-kappa
  • Mahā-nisīha

The 4 Mulasutras: foundation texts

The first of the four Mulasutras is the Acharanga Sutra. This text contains the teachings of Lord Mahavira, the founder of Jainism.

  1. Dasaveyāliya-sutta
  2. Uttarajjhayaṇa-sutta
  3. Āvassaya-sutta
  4. Piṇḍa-nijjutti and Ogha-nijjutti

The 24 Tirthankaras

The tirthankaras are religious teachers who have attained Nirvana, the state of perfect bliss. They are believed to be able to help others achieve Nirvana as well. The first tirthankara was Rishabhanatha, who lived over 1 million years ago. The most recent tirthankara was Mahavira, who lived in the 6th century BCE.

The stories of the tirthankaras provide guidance on how to live a moral and ethical life. They teach about the importance of renunciation, compassion, and self-control.

Conclusion: Jainism is a religion with a rich history and tradition, as evidenced by its many scriptures. The Jain scriptures provide us with a glimpse into the past, and they give us insight into the teachings of Jainism. They also offer guidance on how we can live our lives in accordance with Jain principles. These scriptures are a valuable resource for anyone seeking to understand more about Jainism.

No comments